Leadership Instincts: Survival Skills in a Complex World  |  Technology Inceptions: LG Ultragear Gaming Speaker GP9  |  Teacher Insights: Focus, Gaming Mode in Zoom Meet  |  Management lessons: Work Ethics for a Post Pandemic World  |  Career News: 13 Japanese companies to attend JAPAN DAY 2021 @IIT Hyderabad  |  Higher Studies: IELTS Mock Tests: Benefits and Characteristics  |  Teacher Insights: New Features in Moodle 4.0  |  Policy Indications: India-US Launch Climate Action and Finance Mobilisation Dialogue  |  Science Innovations: Stanford University Develops Algorithm to Predict Molecular Structures  |  Technology Inceptions: Oxygen Concentrator, Generation System Developed by Indian Institute of Science  |  Teacher Insights: Early Intervention in Children Good to Prevent Dyslexia  |  Parent Interventions: Cognitive Stimulation Lowers Dementia Risk  |  Parent Interventions: Elderly Cope Better with Pandemic  |  Policy Indications: Use of Copyrighted Works in Online Education  |  Parent Interventions: Maternal Voice Reduces Pain in Preemies  |  
July 26, 2019 Friday 12:02:06 PM IST

UGC Releases Fake Universities List

Education Information

The University Grants Commission (UGC) on July 23, 2019, released a list of fake universities operating in Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Puducherry.

The notification regarding fake universities was released on the official website of the UGC - ugc.ac.in. The Commission has warned students against taking admission in these institutions.

The notification released by the UGC reads, "Students and public at large are hereby informed that at present 23 self-styled, unrecognised institutions are functioning in various parts of the country in contravention of the UGC Act."

Here is the list of Fake Universities released by UGC:

Uttar Pradesh- Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya (Varanasi), Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya (Prayagraj), Gandhi Hindi Vidyapeeth

(Varanasi), National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy (Kanpur), Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Open University (Aligarh), Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya (Mathura), Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya (Pratapgarh), and Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad (Noida).

Delhi-Commercial University Ltd, United Nations University, Vocational University, ADR–Centric Juridical University, Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University) and Viswakarma Open University for SelfEmployment

West Bengal- Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, and Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research

Odisha- Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, and North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology

Karnataka- Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Gokak, Belgaum

Kerala-St John's University, Kishanattam

Maharashtra- Raja Arabic University, Nagpur

Puducherry- Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education.