Leadership Instincts: Spartan Athletics partners with MSU Burgess Institute   |  Leadership Instincts: UW launches Faculty Diversity Initiative  |  Parent Interventions: Participating in engagement schemes improves young people’s wellbeing  |  Teacher Insights: Foreign language learners should be exposed to slang in the classroom   |  Teacher Insights: Site announced for new specialist mathematics school   |  Parent Interventions: New research shows north-south divide in family law  |  Teacher Insights: Lancaster Castle provides focus for lecture on importance of heritage sites  |  Teacher Insights: Tactile books adapted for blind children  |  Parent Interventions: 'Sleep hygiene' should be integrated into epilepsy diagnosis & management   |  International Edu News: University of Birmingham signs up to global UN agreement   |  International Edu News: Credit card-sized soft pumps power wearable artificial muscles  |  Parent Interventions: High fructose diets could cause immune system damage  |  International Edu News: Submit short films to Bristol Science Film Festival 2021  |  International Edu News: Attachable Skin Monitors that Wick the Sweat Away​  |  Parent Interventions: Scientists model a peculiar type of breast cancer  |  
February 19, 2021 Friday 03:57:15 PM IST

Three MIT researchers elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2021

Leadership Instincts

Three MIT researchers are among the 106 new members and 23 international members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2021. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

The three elected this year include:

Jonathan Patrick How, Richard Cockburn Maclaurin Professor, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, for contributions to decision-making and control of intelligent autonomous aerospace vehicles.

Marija Ilic, senior research scientist, Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems, for contributions to electric power system analysis and control.

David Perreault, Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, for contributions to power electronics technology and design techniques for very high-frequency energy conversion.