National Edu News: CBSE Awards for Teaching and School Leadership 2020-21, Apply till June 28th  |  Technology Inceptions: Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 for Commercial and Education Purposes  |  Technology Inceptions: 'Sunwatch' to Detect Harmful UV Rays  |  Science Innovations: High Power Laster to Deflect Lightning  |  Parent Interventions: A Guide to Parenting in Times of Pandemic  |  Guest Column: The Death of the Creative Writer!  |  Teacher Insights: Why the Boom in Private Tuition Business?  |  Technology Inceptions: More Heat Resilient Silver Circuitry  |  Science Innovations: Silica Nanoparticles for Precise Drug Targetting  |  National Edu News: IIT Hyderabad Improves in QS World University Rankings to 591-600  |  Technology Inceptions: C02 Emissions to Be Made into Animal Feed  |  Leadership Instincts: Blockchain Helping UN Interventions to End Poverty and Hunger  |  National Edu News: Three Indian Institutions in Top 200 of QS World University Rankings  |  Management lessons: Vaccines, Social Distancing, Facemasks Essential Tools to Fight Covid-19  |  Education Information: “The Language Network” to revolutionise language learning  |  
January 29, 2021 Friday 12:23:14 PM IST

HKU President Professor Xiang Zhang receives prestigious SPIE Mozi Award

Teacher Insights

Professor Xiang Zhang, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Hong Kong (HKU), is the winner of the 2021 SPIE Mozi Award in recognition of his seminal, fundamental contributions in optical physics and experimental research in the optical perfect lens, as announced by the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE).

Established in 2017, the SPIE Mozi Award recognizes outstanding discoveries, inventions or scientific and technical achievements in the field of optics. It is named in honour of the Chinese philosopher, scientist and engineer, Mozi (468-391 BC), the first person in recorded history to mention the simple principles behind the concept of camera obscura.

Former recipients of the SPIE Mozi Award include Professor Yuri Kivshar (2020), Head of Nonlinear Physics Centre of the Australian National University (ANU); Sir John Brian Pendry (2019), Professor of theoretical solid-state physics at Imperial College London; and Professor Din Ping Tsai (2018), Distinguished Professor at the National Taiwan University.