Leadership Instincts: IIT Hyderabad -ICAT MoU for Collaboration in Autonomous Navigation  |  Education Information: IIT Hyderabad Retains Top 10 Rank in QS Rankings in India  |  Cover Story: Elimination Round or Aptitude Test- How to Align CUET with NEP 2020 Goals  |  Life Inspirations: Master of a Dog House  |  Education Information: Climate Predictions: Is it all a Piffle!  |  Leadership Instincts: Raj Mashruwala Establishes CfHE Vagbhata Chair in Medical Devices at IITH   |  Parent Interventions: 10 Tricks to Help You Prepare for This Year's IB Chemistry Test  |  National Edu News: TiHAN supports a Chair for Prof Srikanth Saripalli at IIT Hyderabad  |  Teacher Insights: How To Build Competitive Mindset in Children Without Stressing Them  |  Parent Interventions: What Books Children Must Read this Summer Vacation   |  Policy Indications: CUET Mandatory for Central Universities  |  Teacher Insights: Classroom Dialogue for a Better World  |  Rajagiri Round Table: Is Time Ripe for Entrepreneurial Universities in India?  |  Life Inspirations: How to Overcome Fear of Public Speaking  |  Parent Interventions: Wide Ranging Problems of Preterm Infants  |  
March 23, 2020 Monday 11:06:52 AM IST

Choose gluten-free cleaning products

Parent Interventions

While children with celiac disease haven’t been shown to be more susceptible to COVID-19 (coronavirus), they, like everyone else, need to be vigilant about cleaning and disinfecting surfaces.

Cleaning ingredients that may contain gluten

Tocopherols are an ingredient typically labeled as Vitamin E. Tocopherols are frequently derived from wheat and oats; but could also be obtained from the nuts and oils of peanuts, walnuts, hazelnuts, sunflowers and olive oil. Most manufacturers do not list the source of origin for their Vitamin E. Contact the manufacturer if you have questions about the ingredients listed on the label, either through their website or via their toll free numbers.

Other ingredients derived from wheat: fermented grain extract, AMP isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, starch, PG-propyl silanetriol, hydroxypropyltrimonium, steardimonium hydroxypropyl protein/PVP crosspolymer, triticum vulgare, bran extract, PG-propyl silanetriol, triticum lipids, germamidopropyldimonium hydroxypropyl, cyclodextrin, dextrin palmitate and stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl.


Ingredients derived from wheat germ oil: wheat germ glycerides, disodium wheat germamido peg-2 sulfosuccinate, vitamin E, germ oil, triticum vulgare, triticum vulgare germ extract, wheat germ glycerides and wheat germ extract.

Ingredients derived from oats that are likely cross-contaminated: avena sativa, bran, protein, or extracts.

Ingredients derived from barley: barley extract, samino peptide complex, hordeum vulgare phytosphingosine extract, lipids.

The basic active ingredients of hand sanitizers are gluten-free. Gluten-containing ingredients can, however, be added to hand sanitizers to enhance moisturizing capacity or other characteristics. Wheat germ oil, for instance, can be an ingredient. While wheat germ oil is highly processed and likely gluten-free, some products can contain less refined versions that can contain trace amounts of gluten. As with other products that may come in contact with your digestive system (via your hands, in this case), always read the ingredient list.


(Content Courtesy: https://riseandshine.childrensnational.org/gluten-free-cleaning-products/)

Comments